2016 Tang Prize Recipients Announced

2016 Tang Prize Recipients Announced

The Tang Prize Foundation in Taiwan has announced the recipients of the biennial Tang Prizes in sustainable development, biopharmaceutical science, Sinology, and rule of law.

The 2016 Tang Prize in Sustainable Development was awarded to particle physicist Arthur Rosenfeld, known  as the "godfather" of energy efficiency, "for his lifelong and pioneering innovations in energy efficiency resulting in immense reductions in energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions around the world." Founder of the Center for Building Science at Berkeley Lab, Rosenfeld also has served as a senior advisor to the U.S. Energy Department and as California's energy commissioner.

Emmanuelle Charpentier (Max Planck Society), Jennifer A. Doudna (University of California, Berkeley), and Feng Zhang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) shared the 2016 Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science for their work in "the development of CRISPR/Cas9 as a breakthrough genome editing platform that promises to revolutionize biomedical research and disease treatment."

The 2016 Tang Prize in Sinology was awarded to Columbia University professor emeritus William Theodore de Bary "for his pioneering contributions in Confucian studies," which have shown, among other things, that neo-Confucian teachings in late imperial China, particularly during the Ming Dynasty, evince "liberal tendencies."

And the 2016 Tang Prize in Rule of Law was awarded to Canadian jurist Louise Arbour "for her enduring contributions to international criminal justice and the protection of human rights, to promoting peace, justice and security at home and abroad, and to working within the law to expand the frontiers of freedom for all." Arbour has served as United Nations high commissioner for human rights, as chief prosecutor for the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and Rwanda, and as a justice on the Supreme Court of Canada, the Supreme Court of Ontario, and the Ontario Court of Appeal.

Founded in 2012 by Ruentex Group chair Samuel Yin, a signatory to the Giving Pledge, the Tang Prizes are awarded on a biennial basis. A cash award of up to NT$40 million ($1.24 million) and a NT$10 million ($311,000) grant to support further research and/or nurture talent is awarded in each field.

"Canadian Jurist Louise Arbour Awarded 2016 Tang Prize in Rule of Law." Tang Prize Foundation Press Release 06/21/2016. "U.S. Leading Scholar of Asian Thought Awarded the 2016 Tang Prize in Sinology." Tang Prize Foundation Press Release 06/19/2016. "Tang Prize Recognizes Three Scientists for Precision Genetic Editing Tools." Tang Prize Foundation Press Release 06/19/2016. "'Godfather' of Energy Efficiency Recognized with Tang Prize in Sustainable Development." Tang Prize Foundation Press Release 06/18/2016.