2020 Goldman Environmental Prize winners announced

2020 Goldman Environmental Prize winners announced

The San Francisco-based Goldman Environmental Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2020 Goldman Environmental Prizes, an annual award that honors grassroots environmental activists from the world's six inhabited continental regions.

Recipients of this year's prizes include Chibeze Ezekiel (Ghana), whose work led to the Ghanaian Minister of Environment canceling construction of a 700-megawatt coal power plant and adjoining shipping port; Kristal Ambrose (The Bahamas), who, drawing upon youth activism, convinced the Bahamian government to ban single-use plastic bags, plastic cutlery, straws, and Styrofoam containers and cups; and Leydy Pech (Mexico), an indigenous Mayan beekeeper who led a coalition that successfully halted the planting of genetically modified soybeans in southern Mexico.

Other recipients include Lucie Pinson (France), whose work successfully pressured the three largest banks in France to eliminate financing for new coal projects and coal companies; Nemonte Nenquim (Ecuador), who led an effort to protect 500,000 acres of Amazonian rainforest and Waorani territory from oil extraction; and Paul Sein Twa (Myanmar), who established a 1.35-million-acre peace park in the Salween River basin.

In addition to a monetary award, the prize provides recipients with capacity-building support designed to deepen their work, boost the visibility of their projects, and enhance their networking opportunities with other environmental and civil society leaders. 

For additional information about the 2020 prize winners and their projects, see the Goldman Environmental Prize website.

"Introducing the 2020 Goldman Environmental Prize winners." Goldman Environmental Foundation press release 11/30/2020.