Aspen Institute Announces 2010 Catto Fellowships

The Aspen Institute has announced the names of twenty environmental leaders chosen to be Catto Fellows.

Established by Ambassador Henry Catto and his wife, the late Jessica Catto, the two-year program will work to engage the next generation of environmental leaders from the business, government, journalism, and nonprofit sectors and connect their specialized work and talent to larger energy, environmental, and social concerns. This year's fellows, who are diverse in viewpoint, political affiliation, industry, ethnicity, and gender, will attend four five-day seminars in which they will learn how to positively influence society to work for more significant and sustainable environmental results.

The 2010 Catto Fellows include Maria Blair, deputy associate director for climate change adaptation at the White House Council on Environmental Quality; Miquela Craytor, executive director of Sustainable South Bronx; Jacob Duer, senior advisor at the United Nations Environment Program; Ron Gonen, co-founder, chairman, and CEO of RecycleBank; Sarah King, manager of climate and sustainability at DuPont; Adam Lowry, co-founder and chief greens keeper at Method; Eyrique Miller, vice president in investment banking at J.P. Morgan; M.A. Sanjayan, lead scientist at the Nature Conservancy; and Jigar Shah, CEO of Carbon War Room.

"Jessica [Catto] believed intensely in the need to prepare the next generation of environmental leaders," said David Monsma, executive director of Aspen's energy and environment program. "One band of those likely future leaders, the Catto Fellows, drew untold inspiration and lasting resolve from her belief in them."

For a complete list of this year's fellows, visit the Aspen Institute Web site.

"The Aspen Institute Names 2010 Catto Fellows." Aspen Institute Press Release 06/02/2010.