Bush Foundation Announces Winners of 2017 Community Innovation Prize

Bush Foundation Announces Winners of 2017 Community Innovation Prize

The Bush Foundation in Saint Paul, Minnesota, has announced the recipients of the 2017 Bush Prize for Community Innovation.

Now in its fifth year, the annual prize program recognizes organizations in Minnesota and the Dakotas that work inclusively and in partnership with others to make their communities better for all. Each winner receives a package that includes promotional support and materials, as well as an unrestricted grant equal to 25 percent of its prior fiscal year budget, up to $500,000.

The seven winners of this year's prize include Appetite for Change (Minneapolis), which uses food as a tool to build health, wealth, and social change in the North Minneapolis neighborhood; the Fargo-Moorhead Coalition for Homeless Persons (Fargo, North Dakota), which works to bridge political borders to find permanent solutions to homelessness; the Thunder Valley Community Development Corporation (Pine Ridge, South Dakota), which collaborates with community groups to build hope and confidence and create an ecosystem of opportunity; and the Hmong American Farmers Association, which aims to create intergenerational wealth for Hmong farmers, who represent 50 percent of vendors in Twin Cities metro area farmers markets.

"The 2017 winners are unstoppable forces who show up every day determined to create collective solutions for their communities," said Mandy Ellerton, the foundation's community innovation director. "They push through challenges and hardship for causes they care about, stirring up and inspiring much-needed change in the places they call home."

"2017 Bush Prize Community Innovation Winners." Bush Foundation Press Release 11/14/2017.