Kauffman Foundation Taps 2009 'Young Scholars', Announces New Programs

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation has announced the 2009 recipients of the Kauffman Young Scholars Program, which recognizes the achievements of young academics at three career levels who are making significant contributions to research in entrepreneurship.

The 2009 Ewing Marion Kauffman Prize Medal for Distinguished Research in Entrepreneurship was awarded to Antoinette Schoar, the Michael M. Koerner associate professor of entrepreneurial finance at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management. The medal, awarded every two years to a scholar under the age of 40 whose research has made a significant contribution to the literature in entrepreneurship, includes a $50,000 cash prize.

The foundation also recognized Aaron K. Chatterji of Duke University; Waverly W. Ding, University of California, Berkeley; Gerson Dushnitsky, University of Pennsylvania; Jon Eckhardt, University of Wisconsin-Madison; and Andrew J. Nelson, University of Oregon with Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowships in Entrepreneurship Research. The fellowships, in the amount of $50,000 each, will be awarded to each fellow's university to support the research activities of that fellow.

And through the Kauffman Dissertation Fellowship Program, the foundation recognized fifteen doctoral students and their universities with $20,000 awards to support each student's dissertation research in the area of entrepreneurship.

"Our funding of young scholars initiatives supports the foundation's goal of promoting and advancing the fields of entrepreneurship and innovation," said Kauffman Foundation president and CEO Carl Schramm. "By assisting talented young scholars in their research efforts, we encourage the very best and brightest to focus their careers on entrepreneurship."

The foundation also recently announced the new Kauffman Entrepreneur Fellows program, which will pair prospective entrepreneurs with venture creation companies to take innovative ideas to market and eventually create profitable companies. The program is the first to be developed through a new multimillion-dollar initiative called Kauffman Laboratories for Enterprise Creation that is focused on increasing the number and success of high-growth startup companies.

"Kauffman Foundation Announces 2009 Young Scholars Program Recipients." Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation Press Release 01/05/2009.