Kresge Foundation Awards $3.8 Million to South African Universities

The Kresge Foundation has announced grants totaling more than $3.8 million to bolster the private fundraising and advancement efforts of eight universities in South Africa.

Through the 2013-17 Kresge-Inyathelo Advancement Initiative in South Africa — a partnership with Inyathelo: South African Institute for Advancement — four universities will receive up to $640,000 each over six years. The Durban University of Technology, Tshwane University of Technology, University of Johannesburg, and University of the Free State will receive initial funding for advancement operations and annual bonuses subsequently as they achieve fundraising benchmarks.

A 2005-2011 collaboration between Kresge and Inyathelo saw fundraising at participating institutions increase threefold. Four universities from the earlier initiative — the University of Pretoria, University of the Witwatersrand, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, and University of the Western Cape — will each receive $250,000 over five years to continue building their development efforts and serve as mentors to the new cohort.

In addition, the foundation will provide funding for training, coaching, and support over the next six years, bringing its total commitment to the initiative to about $7 million.

"With declining government support, many South African university officials are tapping private financial donations to enhance their institutions' ability to serve students better," said Bill Moses, director of Kresge's education program. "Stronger advancement skills are critical to their success and ultimately to getting more South African students into universities and completing degrees."

"Kresge Foundation Funds Efforts to Strengthen South African Universities." Kresge Foundation Press Release 01/16/2013.