Lilly Endowment Awards 2012 Indiana Clergy Renewal Grants

The Indianapolis-based Lilly Endowment has announced grants totaling nearly $997,000 to twenty-two congregations in twelve counties through its Clergy Renewal Program for Indiana Congregations.

The program, now in its fourteenth year, allows ministers in Indiana to step back from their daily routines and gain a fresh perspective and renewed energy through a period of travel, study, rest, and/or prayer. Indiana congregations were invited to apply for grants of up to $50,000 — $15,000 of which can be used to fulfill pastoral duties during the minister's absence and pay for expenses related to the congregation's own renewal.

This year's grant recipients include Rachel A. Metheny, Broadway United Methodist Church in Indianapolis ($50,000); Joyce A. Castleman, First Baptist Church in Greenwood ($50,000); David Sutter and Janice Sutter, Kern Road Mennonite Church in South Bend ($49,995); L. John Gable, Tabernacle Presbyterian Church in Indianapolis ($47,348); Amy Beitelschees-Albers, Holy Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church in Harlan ($29,427); and Mary J. Taflinger, Trinity Episcopal Church in Lawrenceburg ($28,049).

"In our religion grantmaking, we hope to strengthen the efforts of today's excellent pastors," said Craig Dykstra, senior vice president for religion at the endowment, "because it is no secret that pastors who have reconnected themselves to the passions that led them to the ministry in the first place are more likely to lead healthy and vibrant congregations."

For a complete list of this year's recipients, visit the Lilly Endowment Web site.