Lilly School of Philanthropy Announces Recipients of 2013 Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Ethical Fundraising

The Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy has announced the recipients of the 2013 Henry A. Rosso Medal for lifetime achievement in ethical fundraising.

The three recipients — Dwight F. Burlingame, Kay Sprinkel Grace, and Raymond L. Handlan — were recognized for their long and productive careers and ongoing service to the field. Created in 1990 to honor Henry A. "Hank" Rosso, a founder of the Center on Philanthropy (now the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy) and founding director of its Fund Raising School, the annual award recognizes practitioners who emphasize the ethics and values of philanthropy and, through their efforts to mentor others, perpetuate and invigorate the tradition of philanthropy.

Dwight F. Burlingame, Ph.D., is director of M.A. Programs and professor of philanthropic studies at the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy. In 2010, he completed a six-year term as editor of the Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly, the official journal of the Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action, and he currently serves as co-editor of the Philanthropic and Nonprofit Studies book series for Indiana University Press.

Kay Sprinkel Grace, founder and principal of Transforming Philanthropy, LLC, is the author of six books related to philanthropic practices and board engagement. A frequent speaker at local, regional, and national meetings of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Grace will present this fall at the International Fundraising Congress in the Netherlands, the Blackbaud Conference in Sydney, and the AFP Congress in Toronto.

Raymond L. Handlan is president emeritus of Atlantic Philanthropies, which he led from 1983 to 1993. Prior to his grantmaking career, he worked for twenty-five years in various fundraising positions at several universities. As director of development at Cornell University, Handlan led a successful $250 million capital campaign from 1975-1980. He also is a board member emeritus of the Center on Philanthropy.

"All three of this year's medal recipients are tireless champions for excellence and professionalism in fundraising in the U.S. and around the world," said Gene Tempel, founding dean of the IU Lilly Family School of Philanthropy. "They have heightened fundraisers' awareness of the importance of research and ongoing professional development as crucial elements of effective fundraising practice and stewardship. Their individual visions and leadership have significantly strengthened and advanced the fundraising profession."

"Lilly Family School of Philanthropy to Award Three Rosso Medals Recognizing Lifelong Achievements in Ethical Fundraising." Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy Press Release 09/04/2013.