Mellon Foundation Names 2008 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients

The New York City-based Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has announced the recipients of its 2008 Distinguished Achievement Awards in the humanities.

Conferred annually since 2001, the awards of up to $1.5 million recognize scholars who have made significant contributions to humanistic inquiry and enable them to teach and conduct research under favorable conditions while enlarging their opportunities for scholarship and teaching at the academic institutions with which they are affiliated. Award recipients must hold tenured positions at U.S. institutions of higher education and are chosen from fields such as art history, the classics, history, musicology, philosophy, religious studies, and literary studies, including the study of foreign literatures.

The 2008 recipients are Judith Butler, the Maxine Elliot Professor in the departments of rhetoric and comparative literature at the University of California, Berkeley; Tom Gunning, the Edwin L. and Betty L. Bergman Distinguished Service Professor in the department of art history at the University of Chicago; Barbara Newman, John Evans Professor of Latin Language and Literature in the classics department at Northwestern University; and Sheldon Pollock, the William B. Ransford Professor of Sanskrit and Indian studies at Columbia University.

For more information about the 2008 award recipients, visit the Mellon Foundation Web site.

"2008 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients Named." Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Press Release 03/13/2009.