MJFF Announces Safra Fellowship in Movement Disorders Class of 2021

MJFF Announces Safra Fellowship in Movement Disorders Class of 2021

The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research has announced the recipients of its 2021 Edmond J. Safra Fellowship in Movement Disorders.

Established in 2014 by MJFF and its longtime partner, the Edmond J. Safra Foundation, the fellowship provides two years of training to neurology researchers interested in becoming movement disorder clinician-researchers. Through the program, five academic centers will receive funding to each train a single movement disorder specialist. With the enrollment of this fourth cohort and the recent graduation of the first, the program is on schedule to graduate twenty-one new movement disorder specialists by 2021.

The new cohort includes Whitley W. Aamodt (Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania); Christopher Y. Caughman (Emory University); Neil Shetty (Northwestern University); Anne Weissbach (University of Lübeck, Germany); Judith van Gaalen (Radboud University, Nijmegen, Netherlands); and Amir Badiei (University of California, San Francisco).

According to MJFF, the world is experiencing a shortage of movement disorder specialists, and the gap in the number of doctors qualified to treat movement disorders and the patients who need them is growing. It's estimated that some six million people globally are living with Parkinson's, a figure that is expected to double by 2040.

"With each new class of the Edmond J. Safra Fellowship in Movement Disorders, we see enormous promise and hope," said Lily Safra, chair of the Edmond J. Safra Foundation and a member of the MJFF board of directors. "This next generation of movement disorder specialists will meet critical needs in patient care and research advancement."

(Photo credit: rawpixel)