NonProfit Times Announces 2013 'Power and Influence Top 50'

NonProfit Times Announces 2013 'Power and Influence Top 50'

The NonProfit Times, a leading nonprofit business publication in Morris Plains, New Jersey, has released its sixteenth annual Power and Influence Top 50 list.

This year, the list includes eighteen first-time honorees and five others who were returned to the list after an absence of at least a year. New to the list are Chris Anderson, founder of the Sapling Foundation, which acquired the TED conferences in 2001; Lucy Bernholz, visiting scholar at the Stanford Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society; Charles Best, founder and CEO of; Nicole Lamoureux Busby, executive director of the National Association of Free and Charitable Clinics; Kathy Calvin, CEO of the United Nations Foundation; Paul Grogan, president and CEO of the Boston Foundation; Dara Richardson-Heron, CEO of the YWCA USA; Jo Ann Jenkins, executive vice president and chief operating officer of AARP and the AARP Foundation; Vanessa Kirsch, founder and managing director of New Profit Inc.; Gregory Lewis, executive director of the True Colors Fund; Jim Manis, founder and CEO of the Mobile Giving Foundation; Jacqueline Novogratz, CEO of Acumen; Michael Piraino, CEO of the National Court Appointed Special Advocate Association; Anthony Romero, executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union; William Schambra, director of the Bradley Center for Philanthropy and Civic Renewal at the Hudson Institute; Premal Shah, president of Kiva; Wendy Spencer, CEO of the Corporation for National and Community Service; and Andrew Watt, president and CEO of the Association of Fundraising Professionals.

Leaders in the sector returning to the list after an absence of at least a year include Stephen Heintz, president of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund; Wayne Pacelle, president and CEO of the Humane Society of the United States; Rebecca Rimel, president and CEO of the Pew Charitable Trusts; Patty Stonesifer, president and CEO of Martha's Table; and Eugene Tempel, dean of the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy.

Several honorees have been on the list at least ten times. They include Diana Aviv, president and CEO of Independent Sector (eleven); Emmett Carson, president and CEO of the Silicon Valley Community Foundation (thirteen); Brian Gallagher, president and CEO of United Way Worldwide (eleven); Bill Gates, co-founder of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (ten); John H. Graham IV, president and CEO of ASAE/The Center for Association Leadership (eleven); John R. Seffrin, CEO of the American Cancer Society (eleven); and Tempel.

For the complete 2013 Power and Influence Top 50, visit the NPT Web site.

Paul Clolery. "Innovators Come in All Shapes and Sizes." NonProfit Times 08/01/2013.