NonProfit Times Announces 2015 ‘Power and Influence’ Top 50

The NonProfit Times, a leading nonprofit business publication, has released its eighteenth annual Power and Influence Top 50 list.

This year, more than half the list turned over, with nineteen new honorees and seven honorees who returned to the list after being off it for at least a year. New to the list are Angela Glover Blackwell, founder and CEO of PolicyLink; Susan N. Dreyfus, president and CEO of the Alliance for Strong Families and Communities; Neal Keny-Guyer, CEO of Mercy Corps; Charlotte Haberaecker, president and CEO of Lutheran Services in America; Madeline Janis, co-founder and national policy director of the Los Angeles Alliance for a New Economy; David Jeffrey, national commander of the Salvation Army; John List, principal investigator for the Science of Philanthropy Initiative at the University of Chicago; Daniel Lurie, founder and CEO of the Tipping Point Community; Sally Osberg, president and CEO of the Skoll Foundation; Ai-Jen Poo, director of the National Domestic Workers Alliance; Rip Rapson, president and CEO of the Kresge Foundation; Rob Reich, co-director of the Stanford University Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society; Constance L. Rice, co-founder of the Advancement Project; Yolanda Soto, CEO of the Borderlands Food Bank; Bryan Stevenson, executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative; Mark Tercek, president and CEO of the Nature Conservancy; Gustavo Torres, executive director of CASA de Maryland and CASA de Virginia; Darren Walker, president and CEO of the Ford Foundation; and Amy Sample Ward, CEO of NTEN.

Sector leaders returning to the list after an absence of at least a year include Peter V. Berns, CEO of The Arc; Michael Brown, co-founder and CEO of City Year; Kathy Calvin, president and CEO of the United Nations Foundation; Linda Perryman Evans, president and CEO of the Meadows Foundation; Alberto Ibargüen, president and CEO of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; Jacqueline Novogratz, CEO of the Acumen Fund; Kelvin Taketa, president and CEO of the Hawaii Community Foundation.

Several of this year's honorees have been on the list at least ten times. They include Diana Aviv, president and CEO of Independent Sector (thirteen); Emmett Carson, president and CEO of the Silicon Valley Community Foundation (fifteen); Brian Gallagher, president and CEO of United Way Worldwide (thirteen); Bill Gates, co-founder of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (twelve); and John H. Graham IV, president and CEO of ASAE/The Center for Association Leadership (thirteen).

Paul Clolery. "Equity and Influence Fueled Nation’s Top Executives." NonProfit Times 07/31/2015.