NonProfit Times Names 2014 ‘Top 50’ Sector Influencers

NonProfit Times Names 2014 ‘Top 50’ Sector Influencers

The NonProfit Times, a leading nonprofit business publication, has released its seventeenth annual Power and Influence Top 50 list.

This year, the list includes seventeen first-time honorees and three others who were returned to the list after an absence of at least a year. New to the list are Jeffrey Bradach, managing partner and co-founder of the Bridgespan Group; Sonya Campion, trustee and co-founder of the Campion Foundation; Michael Chatman, senior vice president of philanthropy at the Community Foundation of the Ozarks; Elizabeth Darling, president and CEO of the OneStar Foundation; Jacob Harold, CEO of GuideStar; Jim Gibbons, president and CEO of Goodwill Industries International; Chad Griffin, president of the Human Rights Campaign; Nick Johnson, vice president at the State Fiscal Policy Center on Budget and Policy Priorities; Terri Ludwig, president and CEO of Enterprise Community Partners; Margarette Purvis, president and CEO of the Food Bank for New York City; Robert K. Ross, president and CEO of the California Endowment; Douglas Rutzen, president and CEO of the International Center for Not-for-Profit Law; Thomas Saenz, president and general counsel of the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund; Rabbi David Saperstein, director and counsel of the Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism; Michael Silberman, global director, digital mobilization lab at Greenpeace; Henry Timms, executive director of the 92nd Street Y; and Michael Waldman, president of the Brennan Center for Justice.

Leaders in the sector returning to the list after an absence of at least a year include Phil Buchanan, president of the Center for Effective Philanthropy; Eileen R. Heisman, president and CEO of the National Philanthropic Trust; and Patty Stonesifer, president and CEO of Martha's Table.

Several of this year's honorees have been on the list at least ten times. They include Diana Aviv, president and CEO of Independent Sector (eleven); Emmett Carson, president and CEO of the Silicon Valley Community Foundation (thirteen); Brian Gallagher, president and CEO of United Way Worldwide (eleven); Bill Gates, co-founder of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (ten); John H. Graham IV, president and CEO of ASAE/The Center for Association Leadership (eleven); John R. Seffrin, CEO of the American Cancer Society (eleven); and Gene Tempel, founding dean of the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy (thirteen).

For the complete 2014 Power & Influence Top 50 list, visit the NonProfit Times website.

Paul Clolery. "Honorees Insist on a Civil Society and Chart a Path Toward It." NonProfit Times 08/01/2014.