NonProfit Times Names 2019 'Top 50' Influencers

NonProfit Times Names 2019 'Top 50' Influencers

The NonProfit Times, a leading nonprofit business publication, has released its twenty-second annual Power and Influence Top 50 list.

This year's list features fifteen newcomers and three executives who are returning to the list after an absence of at least a year.

The newcomers include Douglas B. Ammar, executive director, Georgia Justice Project; Abdullah Antepli, chief representative of Muslim Affairs at Duke University/Duke Divinity School; Ana Marie Argilagos, president, Hispanics in Philanthropy; James Clark, president and CEO of Boys & Girls Clubs of America; Asha Curran, co-founder and CEO, #GivingTuesday; Stephanie Klasky-Gamer, president and CEO, LA Family Housing; Paul Gionfriddo, president and CEO, Mental Health America; Lisa Hamilton, president and CEO, Annie E. Casey Foundation; Vu Le, executive director, Rainier Valley Corps and author of the Nonprofit AF blog; Tony Mestres, president and CEO, Seattle Foundation; Brian Mittendorf, chair of the department of accounting and MIS at Ohio State University; Bradley Myles, CEO, Polaris Project; Una Osili, associate dean at the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy/IUPUI; Kathy Reich, director, building institutions and networks, Ford Foundation; and David L. Thompson, vice president of public policy, National Council of Nonprofits.

Nonprofit leaders returning to the list after an absence of at least a year include Scott Harrison, founder and CEO, charity: water; Timothy J. McClimon, president, American Express Foundation; and Anthony Romero, executive director, American Civil Liberties Union.

Four of this year's honorees have been included on the list at least ten times. They are: Brian Gallagher, president and CEO, United Way Worldwide (seventeen appearances); John H. Graham IV, president and CEO, ASAE/The Center for Association Leadership (seventeen); Melanie L. Herman, executive director, Nonprofit Risk Management Center (eleven); and Michelle Nunn, president and CEO of CARE USA (ten).

Brad Smith and Jacob Harold, president and executive vice president of Candid, were both recognized for their roles in merging Foundation Center and GuideStar. Henry Timms, executive director of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, returned to the list after being honored previously for his role in leading the 92nd Street Y, and Helene D. Gayle, CEO of the Chicago Community Trust, has now been recognized for her work at two organizations; she formerly served as CEO of CARE USA.

Paul Clolery. "Evolving Missions Pushed by Need Fueled Honorees' Innovations." NonProfit Times 08/01/2019.