NonProfit Times Names 'Top 50' Leaders

NonProfit Times Names 'Top 50' Leaders

The NonProfit Times, a leading nonprofit business publication based in Morris Plains, New Jersey, has released its fourteenth annual Power and Influence Top 50 list.

Selected from a pool of more than two hundred nominees, this year's list includes seventeen first-time P&I honorees, including John Griswold, executive director of the Commonfund Institute; Scott Harrison, founder and CEO of charity: water; Eileen R. Heisman, president and CEO of the National Philanthropic Trust; Aaron Hurst, president and founder of the Taproot Foundation; Alberto Ibarg├╝en, president and CEO of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; Michael L. Lomax, president and CEO of the United Negro College Fund; Nancy Lublin, CEO of Do Something; Kelly Lucas, president and CEO of the Community Foundation of Greater South Wood County; Luz A. Vega-Marquis, president and CEO of the Marguerite Casey Foundation; Eboo Patel, founder and president of Interfaith Youth Core; Cecile Richards, president and CEO of Planned Parenthood; Paul Shoemaker, executive director of Social Venture Partners Seattle; Ralph Smith, executive vice president of the Annie E. Casey Foundation; Gigi Sohn, co-founder and president of Public Knowledge; Richard Stearns, CEO of World Vision; William S. White, president of the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, and Bob Wise, president of the Alliance for Excellent Education.

Returning to the list after appearing for the first time last year were Dan Busby, president of the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability; Cheryl Dorsey, president of the Echoing Green Foundation; Vicki Ecarra, president and CEO of Feeding America; Helene D. Gayle, president and CEO of CARE; Wendy Harman, director of social strategy at the American Red Cross; Benjamin Jealous, president and CEO of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People; Katrina McGhee, executive vice president of Susan G. Komen for the Cure; Neil Nicoll, president and CEO of the Y; and Laysha Ward, president of the Target Foundation.

A number of honorees also returned to the list after an absence of at least a year, including Geoffrey Canada, founder and CEO of the Harlem Children's Zone; Bill Gates, co-founder of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation; Melanie L. Herman, executive director of the Nonprofit Risk Management Center; and Janet Murguia, president and CEO of the National Council of La Raza.

Those on the 2011 list who have appeared at least eight other times include William C. McGinly, president and CEO of the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy, who has appeared all fourteen times; Emmett Carson, president and CEO of the Silicon Valley Community Foundation (eleven); and Diana Aviv, president and CEO of Independent Sector (nine). Other frequent honorees include Elizabeth Boris, founding director of the Urban Institute's Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy; Brian Gallagher, president and CEO of United Way Worldwide; Peter Goldberg, president and CEO of the Alliance for Children and Families; John H. Graham IV, president and CEO of the Center for Association Leadership; Irv Katz, president of the National Human Services Assembly; Jill Schumann, president and CEO of Lutheran Services in America; and John R. Seffrin, CEO of the American Cancer Society.

To view or download the complete list, visit the NPT Web site.

Paul Clolery. "Fresh Ideas Fueled By Technology, Experience." NonProfit Times 08/01/2011.