Packard Foundation Announces 2012 Science and Engineering Fellows

The David and Lucile Packard Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2012 Packard Fellowships for Science and Engineering.

Each of the fifteen fellows will receive an unrestricted grant of $875,000 over five years to pursue scientific and engineering research. The foundation hopes that supporting such highly innovative professors early in their careers will help to further their promising work and encourage their efforts to train the next generation of scientists.

Selected by a panel of twelve nationally recognized scientists and engineers, the 2012 fellows are Sarah Aciego (University of Michigan), Alexei Aravin (California Institute of Technology), Gaspar Bakos (Princeton University), Jan Carette (Stanford University), Rong Fan (Yale University), Karine Gibbs (Harvard University), William Irvine (University of Chicago), John Johnson (California Institute of Technology), Tyrel McQueen (Johns Hopkins University), Douglas Mitchell (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), David Nicewicz (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill), Milos Popovic (University of Colorado, Boulder), Daniel Rosenbaum (University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center), Tiffany Shaw (Columbia University), Joseph Subotnik (University of Pennsylvania), Cenke Xu (University of California, Santa Barbara).

Since it was established in 1988, the fellowship program has awarded $316 million to 489 faculty members from 52 national universities. Fellows must be faculty members within the three years of the start of their careers who also are eligible to serve as principal investigators engaged in research in the natural and physical sciences or engineering.

"The Packard Foundation is fortunate to be able to award this fellowship to these talented researchers," said Packard Fellowship advisory panel chair Lynn Orr. "Their important work has the ability to profoundly impact the lives of their students and all of us in the world at large."

"2012 Packard Fellowships in Science and Engineering Awarded to Sixteen Researchers." David and Lucile Packard Foundation Press Release 10/15/2012.