People in the News (08/19/18): Appointments, Promotions, Obituaries

People in the News (08/19/18): Appointments, Promotions, Obituaries

The Conrad N. Hilton Foundation in Agoura Hills, California, has announced the retirement of EDMUND "ED" CAIN, vice president of grant programs, effective December 31. Cain joined the foundation in 2006 after serving as director of the Global Development Initiative at the Carter Center in Atlanta and led its domestic and international grant program work as well as its strategic planning. "Ed has demonstrated, throughout his career, a deep value for others, firmly believing that only through creating opportunity and expanding people's choices can lives be improved," said Hilton Foundation president and CEO Peter Laugharn. "Like our founder, Conrad N. Hilton, Ed believes in 'thinking and acting big', a philosophy he applied in leading the Hilton Foundation and philanthropy toward an understanding of and support for the United Nation's Sustainable Development (SDGs)....He will leave a lasting positive mark on the foundation's efforts to improve people's lives."

The California Wellness Foundation has announced the appointment of ARUN BAHETI as vice president of operations, in which role he will oversee grants management, information technology, facilities, and risk assessment. Baheti previously served as director of operations and finance at the Writers Guild Foundation.

The Wallace Foundation in New York City has announced the appointment of BAHIA RAMOS as director of arts, succeeding DANIEL WINDHAM, who is retiring at the end of September. In her new role, Ramos, who most recently served as national director of arts at the Miami-based John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, will lead both the arts program unit and the interdisciplinary team responsible for the strategic design and implementation of Wallace's initiatives in the arts.

The Open Society Foundations have named AYISHA OSORI as executive director of the Open Society Initiative for West Africa. An attorney, development consultant, and communications strategist, Osori has served as board chair of OSIWA for the past three years and previously worked with a number of multilateral institutions, including the World Bank, the United Nations Children's Fund, and the National Democratic Institute. OSF also announced the appointment of KAVITA N. RAMDAS as director of the Women's Rights Program, effective September 25. In addition to serving as president and CEO of the Global Fund for Women from 1996 to 2010, Ramdas previously served as a strategic advisor to Ford Foundation president Darren Walker, directed Ford's India office and oversaw its Sri Lanka and Nepal offices, and worked on anti-poverty programs at the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

The Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation in Pittsburgh has announced the appointment of JENNIFER GIOVANNITTI as president. Giovannitti currently leads strategic programs and community-based initiatives for the Federal Reserve's Fifth District. She will succeed WILLIAM P. "PAT" GETTY, who has held the post since January 1999 and will continue to serve the foundation in the role of regional facilitator and board member emeritus.

The Jewish Federation of Cleveland has named ERIKA RUDIN-LURIA as president, effective January 1, 2019. Currently the organization's senior vice president and chief strategy officer, Rudin-Luria joined the organization in 2001 as a supporting foundations manager, endowment and foundations, and previously worked at UJA-Federation of New York. She will succeed STEPHEN H. HOFFMAN, who is retiring at year-end.

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education has announced the election of ten new members to its thirty-member board of trustees. The newly elected trustees are: TERESA M. FLANNERY (treasurer), vice president of communication at American University in Washington, D.C.; SERGIO GONZALEZ (secretary), senior vice president for university advancement at Brown University; JO AGNEW, chief advancement officer at the University of Western Australia; TONJANITA JOHNSON, executive vice president and COO of the University of Tennessee System; MARGENE MASTIN-SCHEPPS, executive director of marketing and creative services at the University of California, Riverside; DAVID PALMER, vice-president of advancement at the University of Toronto; VITA PICKRUM, vice president of institutional advancement at Delaware State University; CHRISTINE PINA (chair of the Commission on Philanthropy), chief advancement officer at Miss Porter's School in Farmington, Connecticut; PAUL RUCKER, vice president for alumni and stakeholder engagement at the University of Washington; and CHRISTINE TEMPESTA, senior director, information systems and volunteer services at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Alumni Association.

The Television Academy Foundation has announced the election of three new members to its board — actor BENITO MARTINEZ, who has served as co-chair of the academy's diversity committee since 2012; CINDY HOLLAND, vice president of original content at Netflix; and WME partner SEAN PERRY.

"Conrad N. Hilton Foundation Announces Retirement of Ed Cain." Conrad N. Hilton Foundation Press Release 08/16/2018. "Benedum Foundation Names Jennifer Giovannitti as President." Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation Press Release 08/13/2018. "Open Society Names New Head of West Africa Foundation." Open Society Foundations Press Release 08/15/2018. "Open Society Foundations Announce New Head of Women’s Rights Program." Open Society Foundations Press Release 08/15/2018. "The Wallace Foundation Names Bahia Ramos as New Director of Arts." Wallace Foundation Press Release 08/13/2018. "Cal Wellness Appoints New VP of Operations." California Wellness Foundation Press Release 08/13/2018. "Erika Rudin-Luria to Succeed Stephen H. Hoffman as President of the Jewish Federation of Cleveland." Jewish Federation of Cleveland Press Release 08/14/2018. "CASE Membership Elects 10 Advancement Professionals to Board of Trustees." Council for Advancement and Support of Education Press Release 08/10/2018. "Foundation Board Adds Three New Members." Television Academy Foundation Press Release 08/15/2018.