Rita Allen Foundation Announces 2017 Scholars

The Rita Allen Foundation in New York City has announced the 2017 class of Rita Allen Foundation Scholars.

Since 1976, the annual program has recognized young leaders in biomedical science whose research has the potential to reveal new pathways that can advance human health. The seven scientists selected for this year's cohort will each receive an annual grant of up to $110,000 for a maximum of five years to conduct innovative research on the role of microbes in intestinal health, the prevention of chronic pain, and the complex signals that shape development and disorders in the brain. Five of the scholars were nominated by research institutions in the United States and two were selected in partnership with the American Pain Society.

The 2017 cohort comprises Dingding An (Boston Children’s Hospital), Kyle Baumbauer (University of Connecticut School of Nursing), Richard Daneman (University of California, San Diego), Arkady Khoutorsky (McGill University), Stephan Lammel (University of California, Berkeley), Conor Liston (Weill Cornell Medicine), and Kate Meyer (Duke University School of Medicine).

"We are supporting these exceptional young scientists with resources for pioneering projects that will extend the boundaries of knowledge and open new possibilities for improving health," said Rita Allen Foundation president and CEO Elizabeth Good Christopherson. "Their work will provide insights into many of the body's hidden, yet vital, processes — informing strategies to prevent and treat diseases of the brain, nervous system, and digestive system."

"Announcing the 2017 Rita Allen Foundation Scholars." Rita Allen Foundation Press Release 06/05/2017.