Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Names 2019-20 Health Policy Fellows

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Names 2019-20 Health Policy Fellows

The National Academy of Medicine and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation have announced the 2019-2020 class of RWJF Health Policy Fellows.

Selected through a national competition, six mid-career health and behavioral/social science professionals with interest in health policy at the federal level will spend a year in Washington, D.C., working on an assignment in either a congressional office or the executive branch while participating in health policy leadership development activities and media training. Upon completion of the program, fellows will return to their full-time positions and put their leadership skills into practice.

This year's RWJF Health Policy Fellows are Sharron Crowder (School of Nursing, Indiana University), Kristen Dillon (PacificSource Health Plans), Charles Mathias (University of Texas Health Science Center), Michelle Morse (Harvard Medical School/Brigham and Women's Hospital), Joseph Sakran (Johns Hopkins University), and Liliane Windsor (University of Illinois).

"This is a very important time in federal health policy, and the decisions made over the next year will impact the health of people in this country for years to come," said Gregg Margolis, director of the RWJF Health Policy Fellows Program at NAM. "We are proud to bring these six exceptional and accomplished professionals to Washington, D.C., to participate in the policy process. Their deep, practical experience in health care, public health, and research brings real life perspectives to improve the health of the nation."

(Photo credit: Gettyimages)

"Six Selected for Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows Program at NAM." National Academy of Medicine Press Release 07/29/2019.