RWJF Announces 2010 'Nurse Faculty Scholar' Recipients

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation has selected twelve nursing faculty from around the country to participate in its Nurse Faculty Scholars program.

Now in its third year, the five-year, $28 million program provides talented junior nurses with three-year, $350,000 grants, research support, and the chance to participate in institutional and national mentoring activities, leadership training, and networking events with colleagues in nursing and other fields. The program aims to help nurses succeed in, and commit to, academic careers as part of a larger effort to curb the nation's nurse educator shortage.

This year's scholars will investigate a range of health issues, including an intervention to reduce suffering of children with cancer, body temperature and peripheral blood flow in preterm infants, and the spread of sexually transmitted infections in young adults.

"As the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars program enters its third year, we are beginning to see the impact it is having on nursing schools and nursing research," said Jacquelyn Campbell, Anna D. Wolf Chair and professor at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, which provides technical direction to the program. "This new cohort joins an existing group of talented and skilled scholars who are already making important strides in improving public health, advancing health care, and sharing their knowledge with others. We look forward to working with all of our scholars as they continue to contribute to nursing research and the academy and identify ways to improve the nation's health and health care."

For a list of the 2010 Nursing Faculty Scholar award winners, visit the RWJF Web site.

"Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Announces 12 New 'Nurse Faculty Scholars'." Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Press Release 09/20/2010.