Winners of 2014 Kavli Prizes Announced

Winners of 2014 Kavli Prizes Announced

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has announced the recipients of the 2014 Kavli Prizes.

Awarded in partnership with the California-based Kavli Foundation and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, the awards recognize scientists for advances in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience. Each recipient will receive a share of the $1 million prize in his or her field.

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics will be shared by Alan H. Guth of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Andrei D. Linde of Stanford University, and Alexei A. Starobinsky of the Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics at the Russian Academy of Sciences for pioneering the theory of "cosmic inflation," which holds that the universe underwent a short-lived phase during which it expanded by a huge factor. The Kavli Prize for Nanoscience will be shared by Thomas W. Ebbesen of Université Louis Pasteur - Université de Strasbourg, Stefan W. Hell of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, and John B. Pendry of Imperial College London, whose respective work challenged established beliefs about the limits of optical imaging. And the Kavli Prize in Neuroscience will be shared by Brenda Milner of the Montreal Neurological Institute at McGill University, John O'Keefe of University College London, and Marcus E. Raichle, Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine for discovering the specific regions of the brain that are involved in memory and how specialized nerve cells perform different roles.

Established in 2008, the Kavli Prizes are named after the late Fred Kavli, founder of the Kavli Foundation, which is dedicated to advancing science for the benefit of humanity, promoting public understanding of scientific research, and supporting scientists and their work.

For more information about the 2014 Kavli Prize recipients and their institutions, visit the Kavli Foundation website.

"Nine Scientific Pioneers Receive the 2014 Kavli Prizes." Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters Press Release 05/29/2014.