Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Invites Applications for Mentored Research Training Grants

The mission of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation mission is to improve the safety of patients during anesthesia care by encouraging and conducting safety research and education, patient safety programs and campaigns, and national and international exchange of information and ideas.

To that end, APSF and the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) are inviting applications for the joint APSF/FAER Mentored Research Training Grant (MRTG) program. Through the program, grants of $300,000 over two years will be awarded to help anesthesiologists develop the skills and preliminary data they need to become independent investigators in the field of anesthesia patient safety. Patient safety research can be conducted in the laboratory or in real or simulated care environments. Depending on the research objectives, the project may be hypothesis-generating or -testing.

The organizations are interested in funding patient safety research directly relevant to the perioperative care of patients, as well as chronic pain and critical care medicine. While the PI of the proposal must be a board–certified anesthesiologist, patient safety research is usually a multidisciplinary endeavor and this should be reflected in the proposal and in the composition of the mentorship committee, as appropriate. A senior, experienced patient safety research mentor and a rigorous career development plan is essential.

To be eligible, applicants must be a citizen, permanent U.S. resident, or holder of H-1 visa with minimum of three years remaining; be a graduate physician with an unexpired, permanent, unconditional, and unrestricted license to practice medicine or osteopathy in at least one state or jurisdiction of the U.S.; be certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology or in the examination system; be an active member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA); hold or be eligible for a full-time faculty position in a Department of Anesthesiology (primary appointments only) at a U.S. academic institution; and be within ten years of their first faculty appointment.

See the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation website for complete program guidelines and application instructions.


Deadline: November 19, 2019