Arthur Vining Davis Foundations Name Michael J. Murray as President

Arthur Vining Davis Foundations Name Michael J. Murray as President

The board of the Arthur Vining Davis Foundations has announced the appointment of Michael J. Murray as its next president, effective April 1. 

Murray will succeed Nancy J. Cable, who has led the foundation since 2012. During Cable's tenure, the foundation refined its strategic focus within five key areas — private higher educationpublic educational mediainterfaith leadership and religious literacyenvironmental engagement, stewardship, and solutions; and palliative care. Murray will join AVDF from the John Templeton Foundation, where he served first as vice president of philosophy and theology and, since 2011, as senior vice president of programs, in which role he has been responsible for overseeing the growth of the Templeton Foundation's grantmaking work in support of academic research and public engagement in the sciences and between the science and the humanities. Interim AVDF president Dale Knobel will continue in his role during the transition period. 

"Dr. Murray is an excellent choice to guide the foundations through the next stages of our work," said AVDF board chair J.H. Dow Davis. "He is a smart, seasoned leader who will effectively sustain and advance the momentum that we have built as we seek to strengthen America's intellectual life and democracy. Dr. Cable has been a remarkable leader for the foundations. And we are confident that Michael will continue the tradition of strong and inspired leadership that we have known at AVDF."

"It is an honor to be selected to lead AVDF with its deep commitment to excellence in strengthening America's future through education," said Murray. "The AVDF board has embraced a bold set of aspirations that seek to address some of the most pressing needs in American society. I am privileged to have the opportunity to work with this outstanding and committed group of individuals to promote sustainable, long-term change."

(Photo credit: John Templeton Foundation)