Bush Foundation Announces Winners of 2018 Community Innovation Prize

Bush Foundation Announces Winners of 2018 Community Innovation Prize

The Bush Foundation in Saint Paul, Minnesota, has announced the recipients of the 2018 Bush Prize for Community Innovation.

Now in its sixth year, the annual prize program recognizes organizations in Minnesota and the Dakotas that work inclusively and in partnership with others to make their communities better for all. Each winner receives a package that includes promotional support and materials, as well as an unrestricted grant equal to 25 percent of its most recent fiscal year budget, up to $500,000.

The winners of this year's prize include Mid-Dakota Education Cooperative (Minot, North Dakota), which works in partnership with fifteen rural school districts in northwest North Dakota school districts to create innovative education solutions; the Native American Community Board (Yankton, South Dakota), which is focused on protecting the health and human rights of Indigenous people on and near the Yankton Sioux Reservation; Nexus Community Partners (Minneapolis), which works to build powerful, engaged communities of color through an unwavering commitment to community engagement and equity; and the Northwest Indian Community Development Center (Bemidji, Minnesota), which uses its transformative, culture-first model to challenge structural oppression, institutional racism, and opportunity gaps for Native Americans in the Bemidji area.

"The 2018 Bush Prize winners drive breakthrough solutions for our region," said Bush Foundation president Jennifer Ford Reedy. "They demonstrate an amazing ability to tackle whatever complex issue comes their way by engaging their communities to identify and solve problems."

"Six Organizations Win 2018 Bush Prize for Community Innovation." Bush Foundation Press Release 11/13/2018.