Carnegie Names 2017 Carnegie Academic Leadership Award Recipients

Carnegie Names 2017 Carnegie Academic Leadership Award Recipients

The Carnegie Corporation of New York has announced the seven recipients of its 2017 Academic Leadership Awards.

Established in 2005, the award honors leaders of American universities who, in addition to fulfilling their administrative and managerial roles with dedication and creativity, have demonstrated vision and commitment to excellence and equity in undergraduate education. This year's recipients are Joseph E. Aoun, president of Northeastern University; Mark P. Becker, president of Georgia State University; John J. DeGioia, president of Georgetown University; Nariman Farvardin, president of the Stevens Institute of Technology; Maria Klawe, president of Harvey Mudd College; DeRionne Pollard, president of Montgomery College; and Barbara R. Snyder, president of Case Western Reserve University.

Given biannually, the award recognizes educators' commitment to the liberal arts, excellence and access, curricular innovation, the development of major interdisciplinary programs, K-12 education reform, international engagement, and the promotion of strong links between institutions and their local communities. Carnegie will provide $500,000 to each awardee's institution in support of special programs developed by the recipient.

"There are more than four thousand colleges and universities in the United States, which play a fundamental role in educating the next generation of our workforce, leaders, and citizens. Our higher education institutions are central to the future of our nation," said Carnegie Corporation of New York president Vartan Gregorian. "Andrew Carnegie believed in the importance of strong, dedicated, and effective higher education leaders. As custodians of Mr. Carnegie's legacy, it is our honor to salute a new class of exemplary leaders, who join with another twenty past award recipients in representing some of the best of the American academy."

"Academic Leadership Award Recognizes Seven University Presidents." Carnegie Corporation of New York Press Release 09/12/2017.