Rita Allen Foundation Names 2016 Scholars

The Rita Allen Foundation has announced the 2016 class of Rita Allen Foundation Scholars.

Now in its fortieth year, the annual program recognizes young leaders in biomedical science whose research has the potential to reveal new pathways and advance human health. The seven scientists will each receive an annual grant of up to $110,000 for a maximum of five years to pursue their research. Five of the scholars were nominated by research institutions in the United States and two were selected in partnership with the American Pain Society.

The 2016 Rita Allen scholars are Steve Davidson (University of Cincinnati College of Medicine), Camila dos Santos (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory), Monica Dus (University of Michigan), Katherine Hanlon (University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine), Alex Kentsis (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center), Bo Li (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), and Katharina Schlacher (University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center).

"For forty years, the Rita Allen Foundation has been investing in outstanding biomedical scientists at the early stages of their careers. With the class of 2016, we again are providing resources to these scholars to pioneer bold approaches and innovative discoveries," said the foundation's president and CEO, Elizabeth Christopherson. "They will explore alternative treatments for childhood cancers, illuminate how diet changes our brains and affects our health, and investigate how chronic pain alters the central nervous system. These leaders join our community of scholars, whose efforts to address basic biological questions are essential for improving health and reducing suffering caused by disease."

"Rita Allen Foundation Announces 2016 Scholars." Rita Allen Foundation Press Release 06/29/2016.